Churro Cupcakes

Food

Like most people, I am a self-taught baker. I began with baking cupcakes with custom fondant décor and moved up the ladder to doing multi-tiered cakes. It even turned into a small side business with family and friends keeping me busy with orders. Unfortunately, school began taking most of my focus and I had to prioritize.

I enjoy finding unique, easy cupcake recipes online and then combining bits, from each, to make one recipe. I love trying new things and doing the most with everything I do.

Anyway, enough with the story and let’s fast forward to the present! A few team members, at work, arranged a “Mexican Fiesta” themed potluck for a fellow employee-of-the-month-er. Of course, I put myself down to bring cupcakes! Everyone loves the cupcakes I bring!

I dive into Google and Pinterest to find recipes that I would openly accept to make. You know…nothing too hard or time consuming on a work-night. *don’t judge me* I usually stray away from recipes that are from scratch if I am baking for work-related events. I mean, “doctoring” up, a cake box recipe is just as good, and no one can really tell the difference. I wanted to find something unique but also relating to the theme. So, I came across Churro Cupcakes!

For those of you who aren’t familiar with churros, here is a little background on these scrumptious, sweet snacks.

churros-poster

A churro is a fried pastry made from dough and sprinkled with a cinnamon sugar concoction. Churros are popular in Spain, France, the Philippines, Portugal, Ibero-America, and the Southwestern United States. They are normally eaten for breakfast dipped in a sweet sauce or coffee.

After just minutes of browsing the web. I pinpoint a recipe for the cake batter, frosting, and “churro” topping from two other wonderful blogs. Here is a combination of the instructions and the source of which they belong to. But first, let’s start with the final result and how these delicious Churro Cupcakes came to life.

IMG_2503

I’m all about how important angles can alter a picture and turn it into a masterpiece!

For the Cupcakes:

  • Use a vanilla box cake mix (I used French Vanilla)
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla extract (added to batter)
  • 1 Teaspoon Cinnamon (added to batter)

For the Topping:

  • 2 Tablespoons melted butter
  • 1/4 Cup Turbinado Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup White Granulated Sugar
  • 1 and 1/2 Teaspoons Cinnamon

Instructions:

  • Make your cupcake batter according to the instructions on the box, but mix in the vanilla and cinnamon.
  • Bake the cupcakes according to your box instructions.
  • Remove the cupcakes from the oven and allow to cool completely.
  • Once the cupcakes have cooled, prepare your toppings.
  • Melt the butter and add to a small bowl.
  • Combine sugars and cinnamon into another small bowl.
  • Coat the top of a cupcake with melted butter, and dip the top into the cinnamon sugar bowl.
  • Press the cupcake into the sugar gently and ensure that it is completely coated.
  • Set the finished cupcake aside and continue until all cupcakes are completed

Source: http://wifelifekitchen.com/2014/09/05/churro-cupcakes/ (for topping and batter)

Although, the first recipe did not call for frosting, I figured why not add a little more sweetness in our lives!

For Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 (8 ounce) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 5 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tablespoon milk (if desired)

Source: http://www.ladybehindthecurtain.com/churro-cupcakes/ (for frosting recipe)

ENJOY!

– Amanda

One thought on “Churro Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

